Chickenman, for the Best or the Worst.

As a young kid I remember a local radio station out of St. Louis, MO that had a spot near the noon hour. A goofy spoof about a superhero in a chicken suit.

Years later I found a few stray shows on the Internet, then a few more and enjoyed the comic adventures all over again. When I put together my podcast and web page I thought it would be a good show to add to it.

After running through most of my collection, and having requests coming in to ask for more, I did more research on the show, and found out two important things.

1. All the series has been preserved, and is available to anyone who wants to purchase a copy of the 14 CD set for personal use. (currently the set costs $129, but price may vary as time goes by and at the discretion of the copyright holder.)

2. Did I say copyright? Yes. Though most of existing radio broadcasts before a law in 1974 came into being to address such things, most radio broadcasts are considered in the public domain. Broadcast companies focused on the new invention of television, and old radio shows were not considered worthy of copyrighting, often were tossed out wholesale, and considered junk. Chickenman is one that has had the copyright maintained through the years.

The Good part is that the shows are still out there, but it might be best to purchase your own personal set. If you balk at the price, just comfort yourself in knowing it breaks down to about 8 cents per episode. Another thing to do is to request your local radio station to license a copy of the radio series. There is apparently no such licensing for podcasts, or any arrangement to include podcasters in any such licensing arrangements.

The Worse part is that no matter how many people may request it of me, I can’t offer any Chickenman episodes on the podcast. Neither can any other podcasters, legally.

In cooperation with a request from the copyright holder, the shows that I had posted in the past have all been removed.

Bottom line. Though I would really like to, and though you may want me to I just can’t put the shows back on the podcast. I’d still like to know what fans of the podcast have to say about it, so sign up, log in, and make your comments. If you just want to remain anonymous, you can still use my email form on the contact page to leave your comment directly with me.

best,
Keith H

Leave a Reply

