A Jack Benny Moment

One night, Jack Benny was walking home when, all of a sudden, a thief jumped on him.

Jack and the thief were beginning to wrestle. They rolled about on the
ground and Jack put up a tremendous fight. However, the thief managed
to get the better of him and pinned Jack to the ground.

When the thief went through Jack’s pockets all he could find on him
was 25 cents. He was so surprised at this he asked why Jack had
bothered to fight so hard for 25 cents.

“Was that all you wanted?” Jack replied, “I thought you were after the
five hundred dollars I’ve got in my shoe!”

2 thoughts on “A Jack Benny Moment

    1. I actually had received that in an email around the time I posted the article. I thought it was cute, corny, but something that might fit Jack Benny. I changed the names in the emailed joke to suit my purposes.

      It sounded so much like something that might happen on the Jack Benny show. Although I’ve never actually heard it there. Since I posted it, I think I may have heard it on some classic radio comedy show, or other. It almost sounds like something that’s more up the line of Dennis Day, or Kenny Baker. Fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

