Introducing My New Logo, the Mighty Retrobot

After doing a podcast for a few years now, one are I’ve really dropped the ball is in producing an original logo. It makes iTunes happy, it makes Blubrry happy, and it hopefully makes listeners to the podcast happy.

I’d like to say I did it myself, but people around here know better than to put things in the hands of the blind man that could be potentially dangerous. Among them are guns, steering wheels, and crayons. Amazingly they give me sharp pointy things once in a while, and hammers, I can’t forget hammers. Hey, it’s only my thumb on the line here, and little dents all around the nail.

But I digress.

The image was concocted in about 30 minutes, and I’ll bet it looks like it. It’s all I got, I like it, and I’m keeping it.

However, if you think you can do better, I have a prize to give away to any of you artistically gifted people. Here’s the deal.

Send me an image in a jpg or png format. You can draw it then scan it into your computer if you like. If you snail mail me original artwork, you’ll have to pay the postage, and entries become the property of the Retro Radio Podcast. That means me, but if you really want them back I’ll see what I can do.

The image needs to be up to the standards to post on iTunes. 1400 by 1400 pixels.

Draw me a picture of what you think my Retrobots look like. The whole gang includes:

David, not my first Retrobot, but the one I’ve had around the longest. He can be pretty ornery, and likes to tease people.

Callie, his sister who is a no nonsense kind of announcer. Loud and even tempered, but don’t rock her boat, because she knows how to sass back.

Dunkin, their slow talking Scottish uncle. He doesn’t talk much, but when he’s not announcing, he can put the unruly bots in their place.

Anna, the genii in my computer’s lamp. OK, she’s just the Microsoft Anna voice that comes built in, but she managed to bail me out of a tight spot when all the bots went on strike. She can be a little naive, and I think she has a crush on somebody in the crew.

Lee, he kind of showed up when Jill came back after the Retrobot walk out. I haven’t found a role for him yet, but he has a nice voice for announcing the shows.

Jill, yeah, what ever happened to Jill? She came back, then disappeared on me again. I hope she just didn’t get tired of Lee, and dumped him for some other bot. She could be counted on for just about any hosting job I could throw at her. Maybe she left me for more money somewhere else.

Tom. A no nonsense kind of guy. A little dense, but he could read a line and make it sound good. He just never came back after the big Retrobot uprising and walk out. I hear he has a job working for the weather alert channel on my cable company.

There were a few other early Retrobots, but they just never had names, and the technology to power them is a thing of the past. They’ve had to retire to that big Retrobot graveyard in the… um… where ever it is, they’re there.

So, there you have it. A brief profile on who the bots are. Will you do it? Will you draw me a picture to enter into a contest?

The prize.

I have a boxed set of old time radio shows. If you listen to Dennis Humphrey, and the many shows he posts in the Radio Memories Network, you may know he offered this set from his podcast a couple years ago. It is no longer available, and Dennis now offers other products.

The DVD’s originally were sold for $12.95 apiece, and the 10 disks when purchaced together were $112.90. They come in boxes that, when lined up on a shelf make a nice picture. There’s about 6000 episodes, that’s 600 in each of the 10 genres that they represent.

I’d hate to break up the set. It’s still in close to new condition. That’s why I’ll give it away for the prize to the winning entry. It’ll be good for me, and good for you.

All it’ll take to win this prize is to send me your best drawing, or an image of whatever creative artwork you can take a picture of to illustrate the Retrobot hosts in the show.

I don’t know how many people might respond. I’ll keep the contest open at least until the end of the year, December 31, 2013, and see what happens. I hope I hear from you.

If you need to smail mail me something, you can get my mailing information from my podcast page.

http://retro-otr.com/contact

If you need to attach an entry to an email, you can send it to: keith.

Leave a Reply

