A Note from the Past

I’ll be out of the office today. Going on a short road trip, and my podcast activities will go on hold until tomorrow.

I did want to share this though. Not long ago, while unpacking some boxes from the move, a post card was found.

I was a 22 year old Corporal of United States Marines, and days away from completing a NATO excersize in northern Norway. It was January, and extremely cold. We had spent most of the time living in tents, in temperatures that make a walk through an industrial deep freeze seem like weather for short sleeves.

We had some time off, and I saw this post card. The picture isn’t important. It was just a series of pictures of the sun at noon for each of the twelve months, making the low elevation in the winter sky very noticable against that of the summer time.

I wrote a message on it, not thinking much about it, and not even thinking of how I might react when I saw it again.

Here’s what I wrote to myself:

Now that you’re warm again, and basking in the sun of North Carolina, wipe that stupid grin off your face you moron. Send me some of those rays.

When I read those words again,… I grinned again. Sorry about that, Keith from the past. I really wish I could warm you up a little.

One thought on “A Note from the Past”

  1. Hey, I like your different interpretation of the assignment. It actuly brought back memories when I went away and was freezing and all I could think about was the beach!

Leave a Reply

