Hello, It’s Me Again – An Interview with RetroKeith

The question of, ‘Why?’ is something that can go in many directions. Why am I writing this? It’s part of another challenge to stretch my writing ability. Doing something original, and hopefully producing creative content that people actually enjoy. Why do I have this blog? I wanted to have a place for my own personal thoughts on old time radio, and to take interaction with listeners of the podcast in a new direction. By keeping blog articles on their own site, I can keep all the posts with media attached to them on the podcast.

I know my blogging goes in spurts. I get pretty busy at times keeping new podcasts lined up that I fall short on sharing outside the realm of show notes on other people’s work.

I don’t have many goals for blogging, other than to try to do more of it. Or at least to do it on a more regular basis. If anything, you might find extra items from my personal life on a small podcast network I started. It has nothing to do with old time radio, but if you’re ready to find out more about who I am, and who it is who is behind the old radio shows that comes your way, you might like to check it out. If you find me too hard to take, that’s OK. You don’t have to like me to keep liking classic radio programs. At least we’ll have that as a common ground. Hey, even if your social views are drastically different than mine, I already like you because you like classic radio too.

Interview with the guy behind Retro Radio Podcast, and the Retrobots

Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I actually do keep a personal journal. That’s part of why I started my other podcasts. To share at least part of that with people. It’s probably more boring than the stuff I do on the Retro Radio Podcast, and on this blog. I live a pretty boring life. There are probably hermits who are more interesting than me.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

For this challenge, I’ll do my best to respond to any diversity that comes my way. For the mission of the blog, I’ll keep it related to, or flavored with the historic theme of the era of the old radio days.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

Everybody who manages to stumble on the site. If you love old time radio, or are in the industry of voice acting, or s script writing, or the entertainment business, it would be nice to know how different, or similar the business is today, compared to the middle 20th century. How has the techniques used in the early shows or movies helped you today, or have you even taken the time to listen to the veterans of the earlier generation?

Even if you are just a regular person, but just love the old shows, or if you’re old enough to have lived through it, I’d love to hear from you. It would give the modern audience of what shows you liked, or comment on the shift of social norms, and technology advancements. Does life depicted in the shows portray the real life you experienced accurately, or not? I grew up during the years of ’the Brady Bunch’ and though I could relate to the characters, and the events of family life, I could tell it wasn’t particularly accurate. Nobody I knew had a maid, the set was clearly a in a studio, the house was never messy, and any family fighting didn’t involve blood, or s reaming.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

To have a more active blog, with articles appearing more frequently. Also in stretching what I do. That means to not go overboard with cranking out too many podcasts on the feed, or not abandon ing it either. I want to go for a balance where I feel like I’m accomplishing something, growing, and still finding time for a personal life in the real world, with face to face interaction with real people. I don’t get out of the house much, and certainly not as much as I’d like, so blogging, podcasting, and my feeble appearance on social media is how I can express myself.

My adventure in blogging has already evolved. For that matter, the way I do podcasts has changed over the years as well. I expect as time goes on, changes and evolutions on what appears will continue. Am I doing it right? All I can do is to be me, but it’s nice sometimes to get a comment from someone in the world to let me know. Interaction from you, the reader, or listener, can help my online world evolve as well.

Day One: Introduce Yourself to the World

[end]

Leave a Reply

