Driving the Retro Radio Brand to Market

Yippie Kai yi Yay! Get them blogs rounded up, and a-movin’! Well maybe not that kind of branding, or going off to market, but that’s today’s assignment in improving on the blogging experience. Changing the title and tag line of the blog. Granted, it’s easy to do, but I’m not gonna do it.

A good title and tag line name the site, and let visitors know at a glance what you do with your site. I know all about that, and that’s why I already put a lot of effort into them. I don’t feel the mission of the blog has changed all that much to rename them just for this exercise.

I can share a little on why I named it the way I did. It’s a blog, so I called it a blog. Sounds redundant, but it stemmed out of my podcast, and it just serves to point out that difference.

I called it Retro Radio because I wanted to share about the hidden treasure of old radio shows. I don’t like the traditional label of Old Time Radio, it’s too… well… old sounding. For me, it’s not nostalgic. That’s a word that implies that I have a first hand knowledge of it. As old as I am, it still falls in a time of history from before I was born. Retro means to go backwards, and not necessarily to a place that you’ve ever been to before. For me, and to all future generations of potential fans, that’s the most logical name for it.

I’d love to claim the word ‘retro’ for my domain, and for the site title, but it’s too vague by itself. There’s retro music, retro gaming, retro styles, retro clothing, retro cars, and the list goes on. Even the term ‘Retro Radio’ can be misleading, since there are people who rebuild old radio sets who use that name. With all that thought process behind me, I arrived at including the redundant word, ‘Podcast’ in the name.

My tag line, or description, or log line, has been tweaked through the years and if I decide to change anything, it’ll probably be that. However, For the sake of the exercise at hand… no. It suits me just fine. I see myself as a person who is bringing classic audio entertainment out of the dusty archives, and presenting it in a new way, podcasts, to a new audience. Kind of like a librarian who doesn’t leave those dusty books of Shakespeare, or Dickens on the shelf, but who scans them, reads them, and delivers them in new forms of media to the generations of today, and the future.

Who knows, after taking the time to write this article about it, maybe there will come a time when I rename the title. I suppose the lesson to be learned is not to be afraid to go there, and change that brand if the mission of what you do changes. Well, cowboys and cowgirls, it’s time to put them doggies to rest, lets get some grub from the chuckwagon, tomorrows another day on the trail of blogging improvements.

Day Two: Take Control of Your Title and Tagline

You set your blog’s address when you registered at WordPress.com, but your blog’s title — what readers see on your site when they visit — can be changed at any time. Today, let’s make sure you love yours.

Today’s assignment: edit your title and tagline.

[]end

Leave a Reply

