Stopping the Unstoppable

Another installment of peeking behind the curtain, and glimpsing behind the scenes of the podcast.

Environment is so important. Sometimes there isn’t any control, and when there’s work to be done, mental preparation can make the difference. Bad weather, noisy room, the need to leave that comfortable chair and desk, working on the road, off the grid, without tools, or very few of them. Creativity is still locked in the head, but it takes more effort to pry it out.

Not that creativity can’t be expressed. It just takes conscious effort and well… creativity to get it out in the open.,

For example, today I’m not at home. I’ve had to be on the road to take care of business. Going to the city to accompany a relative at a doctor appointment. continuing the day’s adventure 80 miles down the road to my house that I’ve been trying to sell. We have renters instead, and lease agreements to look over, sign, and arrange for them to take possession. While my wife shows them the property once again, I take a break, squeezing in a few moments to crack open the laptop, connecting to the world using a hotspot, and at least take time in writing a few lines for the Retro Radio Blog. It isn’t my usual work space. I’m out of the office, out of my creative comfort zone, but if I can’t record a podcast, or even listen to anything, or work on my line up for the upcoming weeks, at least I can write.

I’d rather be in my office chair, with the nice back support. I’d rather be able to finish that editing project I started on the weekend, but had to put on hold for the moment. I’d rather have access to my home network, and the archive of stuff I have there for resources. I’d rather be able to do some audio editing on the software I have on my home work station, than the set up on my portable environment.

I could do some of those. I try to be prepared. Instead, I write. I need the practice. And now you know a little more about the behind the scenes of what happens at the podcast.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll be unstoppable, and crank the creative juice to full impact. I love the time I spend in my little Church House Studio. But maybe life will sneak in with lawn mowers that need fixing, backyard jungles to weed whack, laundry to do. and other demands on time management. Then I’ll slip upstairs, put on the headphones, fire up the microphone, and slice and dice audio files until the evening grows late.

Note: Inspired in part by the #DailyPost
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unstoppable/

[categories Inbox, Writing]

Leave a Reply

